Review: Trusting You & Other Lies by Nicole Williams

Posted June 20, 2017 by Shannon in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: Trusting You & Other Lies by Nicole WilliamsTrusting You & Other Lies by Nicole Williams
four-stars
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers on June 20th 2017
Genres: Summer, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Goodreads

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.
Phoenix can't imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?
On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he's impossible to figure out—and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he's promising Phoenix a summer she'll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

Buy it here: Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK |


Review

When I first heard that this book was going to be taking place at a summer camp and with camp counsellors, I jumped on this opportunity like white on rice. As a teenager, I went to summer camp for years and then when I was fifteen, I started working there for the summer. It was the best thing ever. Two days after school ended, you pack everything up and live with your friends for two and a half months out of the year. Doing this until I went to college, I got a pretty good handle on how camps work and run, what’s expected of the counsellors and activity instructors, etc. When I started reading Trusting You, it sent me way back to those summers and I couldn’t be happier to relive and remember some of those memories from many moons ago. Williams does a fantastic job of helping the reader reminisce about their summers as a child (even if you didn’t go to camp). It’s just got a summery feel to it. You can practically hear the wind rustling through the trees and picture the old cabins and dining hall.

“It isn’t my birthday.” “
It doesn’t have to be for someone to give you a gift.”
I worked my tongue into my cheek. He was as stubborn as someone else I knew. “I’d like to pay you back.”
“And I’d like a twelve-inch meatball sub in my mitts right this minute, but sometimes we just have to live with our disappointment.”

Sometimes I have a hard time with authors that I already know going from romance or New Adult to telling Young Adult stories; I just don’t always find the voice believable. However in this case, I actually really enjoyed the story and the way that the author not only told it, but her heroine’s voice and how consistent it was.

“[A]t that moment, sitting across from him, pretending to study for our SATs, I wasn’t thinking about the heap of reasons we didn’t make sense.
I was only thinking about the reasons we did.”

I enjoyed the issue of trusting others in this story and how it was a main focus. Not only that, but this lesson is applied in several different ways, so you can see it from different perspectives. However, if I could’ve changed one thing, I would’ve liked to see more depth between the relationship of the hero and heroine, not just the hero growing and the heroine growing separately, if that makes sense. I wanted some of those nostalgic butterfly moments that you would get as a teen and being around the boy you liked. The little, cute, defining moments that help building up a relationship, especially in YA when physical intimacy isn’t something that you can rely on. Back to the trust concept, with regards to the plot/conflict, I thought it was fine in relation to the family issues, but whereas talking about the romance aspect, I thought that the resolution between the characters just felt a little -meh-. I just wasn’t overly excited or interested in their little make up moment.

“I wasn’t weaker because of Callum O’Connor—I was stronger.”

This is definitely a summery read, though with trust issues being a factor, it may not be one for the beach. Though it’s still on the light side and cute, so don’t worry about being overloaded with angst. I enjoyed Phoenix, Callum and Camp Kismet, so I guess that means this is another winner by Nicole Williams!

I kissed Callum O’Connor. Soft and sweet, even a little unsure at first.
Finally.
And then he kissed me back. Hard and lingering, like he’d never been so sure of anything before.
His hand found my waist, and his arm slid around it as his body kept mine pinned against the picnic bench. He tasted like sunshine and a storm, and he kissed like we had forever and had run out of time.
He kissed me like I’d wanted to be kissed my whole entire life—like I was everything.

 

*An ARC was received in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

four-stars

About Nicole Williams

Nicole Williams is the New York Times and USATODAY bestselling author of contemporary and young adult romance, including the Crash and Lost & Found series. Her books have been published by HarperTeen and Simon & Schuster in both domestic and foreign markets, while she continues to self-publish additional titles. She is working on a new YA series with Crown Books (a division of Random House) as well. She loves romance, from the sweet to the steamy, and writes stories about characters in search of their happily even after. She grew up surrounded by books and plans on writing until the day she dies, even if it’s just for her own personal enjoyment. She still buys paperbacks because she’s all nostalgic like that, but her kindle never goes neglected for too long. When not writing, she spends her time with her husband and daughter, and whatever time’s left over she’s forced to fit too many hobbies into too little time.
 
Nicole is represented by Jane Dystel, of Dystel and Goderich Literary Agency.

Leave a Reply